Eglwys Newydd Hafod Church, dedicated to St. Michael and All Angels is situated in a quiet, isolated but picturesque area on the boundary of the enchanting Hafod Estate. Thomas Johnes, in 1803 commissioned James Wyatt to designed an impressive new church with many unusual features, such as the east window to face south-west, with sixteenth century Flemish stained glass brought over from the Low Countries.The font commissioned from the famous London studios of Eleanor Coade, and decorated with carved roses, the Johnes Coat of Arms and figures representing the cardinal virtues. It was indeed a beautiful Gothic Church.
Tragically, in April 1932 a fire destroyed much of the charming internal fittings and roof.
The excellent restoration work was overseen by W. D. Caroe, who designed the new attractive barrel shaped limed-oak roof and the beautiful furnishings and fittings which feature around some of the original treasures, although damaged they are still to be seen at the church today.
This beautiful listed grade 11* building has again recently been extensively restored and internally refurbished.
There is now an interesting display of interpretation panels depicting the history of the Church and the Hafod Estate. Much social history has been researched by church members and the local community; there is also a touch screen kiosk which enables visitors seeking family history to easily locate their local family details.
The church (with the use of public convenience) is open every day between 10.00 a.m. and 4.30 p.m. from Easter to the end of October.
No Records Found
Sorry, no records were found. Please adjust your search criteria and try again.